PEF Special ElectionsFebruary 17, 2023 — Two vacant seats on the PEF Executive Board were filled during the first-quarter special election, and balloting will be held to determine who will fill three contested seats. 

Tanya Oliver was elected to Seat 25, representing certain members at the Department of Corrections, and Stephen Powers was elected to Seat 425, representing certain members in the state Department of Public Service. 

Their terms of office will be until July 31, 2024. 

William Ferguson, Kathryn Bamberger, and Sheri Smith were certified for Seat 55, which represents certain members at Economic Development; Tamara Martin and John Nicotina were certified for Seat 255, which represents certain members at the Law Department; and Mamadou Diallo and Jeffrey Sardegna were certified for Seat 535, which represents certain members at the Department of Transportation. 

Ballots will be mailed to these constituencies on February 22, by the American Arbitration Association (AAA) and must be returned no later than 5 p.m. March 15. Ballots will be counted on March 16 by AAA in New York City. 

No candidates were certified following petitioning for 11 remaining vacancies and nominees for those seats, and any that become vacant in the interim, will be sought in the second-quarter special election that begins in April. 

The vacant seats are: 

  • Seat 1, Agriculture & Markets 
  • Seat 15, Civil Service
  • Seat 90, Higher Education Services Corporation 
  • Seat 101, SUNY Stonybrook 
  • Seat 104, SUNY Stonybrook 
  • Seat 172, ITS 
  • Seat 395, OMH/OPWDD 
  • Seat 545, Political Subdivisions of NYS 

For more information, visit the PEF Elections page.